Softwr

Maps · head to head

GraphHopper vs Mapillary

GraphHopper logo

GraphHopper

Maps

Open-source routing engine for road networks, providing fast route calculations, turn-by-turn navigation

From
On request
Rated
-
Mapillary logo

Mapillary

Maps

Platform for street-level imagery that crowdsources images to map the world and

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: GraphHopper the free plan is non commercial use only; Mapillary no pricing information published on main website pages, suggesting either free service or hidden pricing model
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which GraphHopper and Mapillary actually diverge.

Attributes where GraphHopper and Mapillary differ
AttributeGraphHopperMapillary

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (freemium), free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Maps).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in GraphHopper

Nothing recorded that Mapillary does not also cover.

Only in Mapillary

Nothing recorded that GraphHopper does not also cover.

Both cover

  • Core Functionality
  • User Interface

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

GraphHopper

  • Routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an APInot Mapillary
  • Map matching GPS traces and generating isochronesnot Mapillary

Mapillary

  • Street-level imagery for map editing and verificationnot GraphHopper
  • Crowdsourcing photos to keep a map currentnot GraphHopper
  • Extracting map features automatically with computer visionnot GraphHopper
  • Embedding street imagery with MapillaryJSnot GraphHopper

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

GraphHopper

  • The free plan is non commercial use only
  • Free allows 500 credits a day, 5 locations per request and a single vehicle
  • Request complexity is capped per plan, at 30 locations and 2 vehicles on Basic at 69 EUR a month, rising to 200 locations and 20 vehicles on Premium at 479 EUR
  • Isochrone range is limited by plan, at 15 minutes on Basic and 30 on Premium
  • Credits are a daily allowance, so a busy day cannot draw on a quiet one

Mapillary

  • No pricing information published on main website pages, suggesting either free service or hidden pricing model
  • Unclear monetization strategy makes it difficult for businesses to understand licensing costs for commercial use
  • No published tier structure or feature limits visible to potential customers

Pricing, plan by plan

GraphHopper

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the GraphHopper review.

Mapillary

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mapillary review.

Which should you pick?

Choose GraphHopper if

Nothing in the data separates GraphHopper from Mapillary on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Mapillary if

Nothing in the data separates Mapillary from GraphHopper on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is GraphHopper or Mapillary better?
Neither clearly leads. GraphHopper starts at On request and Mapillary at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, GraphHopper or Mapillary?
GraphHopper starts at On request and Mapillary at On request.
Does GraphHopper or Mapillary run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is GraphHopper best used for?
GraphHopper is most often used for routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an api, map matching gps traces and generating isochrones. Of those, routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an api and map matching gps traces and generating isochrones are not what Mapillary is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

GraphHopper: Is the free plan actually usable for production?

No. The free tier is limited to non-commercial use only and includes 500 daily credits. To use GraphHopper in production, you need a paid plan starting at 69 euros per month.

Source
Mapillary: What is the pricing model for Mapillary?

Mapillary does not publish pricing information on its main website pages. The platform focuses on features like street-level imagery access, map updating through computer vision, and open data sharing, but specific costs and licensing tiers are not disclosed publicly.

Source
GraphHopper: What happens if I exceed my daily credit limit?

The page does not specify. Each tier has a daily credit limit (500 for free, 5,000 for Basic, 15,000 for Standard, 50,000 for Premium), but no overage policy is documented.

Source
Mapillary: Can I use Mapillary for commercial purposes?

Specific details about commercial licensing for Mapillary are not published on the main website. Interested businesses should contact Mapillary directly through their support channels to discuss commercial use cases and licensing options.

Source
GraphHopper: Does GraphHopper offer a trial period?

No. There is no trial period. You can start with the free plan to test, but commercial use requires a paid subscription.

Source
Mapillary: Is Mapillary free to use for individual contributors?

Mapillary emphasizes open data sharing and community contributions but specific details about free vs. paid access for individuals are not clearly stated on the main website. Contact Mapillary support for clarification on access terms.

Source
GraphHopper: How much does the Premium plan cost and what do I get?

Premium is 479 euros per month and includes 50,000 daily credits, up to 200 locations per request, up to 20 vehicles, email and phone support, and access to all APIs including routing and optimization.

Source
GraphHopper: Is there a discount if I link back to GraphHopper?

Yes. A 20% discount is available with proper attribution. The page also mentions a 99.5% uptime SLA on paid plans only.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads