Softwr

Design · head to head

Affinity Designer vs Final Cut Pro

Affinity Designer logo

Affinity Designer

Design

Professional graphic design software for everyone

From
$69.99/one-time
Rated
-
Final Cut Pro logo

Final Cut Pro

Entertainment

Revolutionary video editing for Mac

From
$12.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Final Cut Pro macOS and iPad only, no Windows or Linux support
  • They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Final Cut Pro covers Magnetic Timeline.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Final Cut Pro actually diverge.

Attributes where Affinity Designer and Final Cut Pro differ
AttributeAffinity DesignerFinal Cut Pro
Starting price$69.99/one-time$12.99/month
Pricing modelone-timeUnknown
PlatformsWindows, Macos, IosmacOS, iPadOS
CategoryDesignEntertainment
Founded19941998

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Affinity Designer

  • Vector drawing
  • Bezier tools
  • Gradient tools
  • Typography
  • Pixel-perfect editing
  • Artboards
  • Symbols
  • Non-destructive effects

Only in Final Cut Pro

  • Magnetic Timeline
  • Multicam editing
  • 360° video editing
  • HDR support
  • Motion graphics
  • Color grading
  • Audio editing
  • Real-time effects

Both cover

  • Macos support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Affinity Designer

  • Logo designnot Final Cut Pro
  • Vector illustrationnot Final Cut Pro
  • Icon designnot Final Cut Pro
  • Brandingnot Final Cut Pro

Final Cut Pro

  • Professional film editingnot Affinity Designer
  • TV productionnot Affinity Designer
  • Documentary editingnot Affinity Designer
  • Commercial productionnot Affinity Designer
  • YouTube contentnot Affinity Designer

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Affinity Designer

  • Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed

Final Cut Pro

  • macOS and iPad only, no Windows or Linux support
  • No free tier, requires paid subscription or $299.99 purchase
  • Smaller plugin ecosystem compared to Adobe Premiere Pro
  • Limited audio editing capabilities compared to dedicated audio software
  • Less powerful color grading compared to DaVinci Resolve

Pricing, plan by plan

Affinity Designer

$69.99/one-time
  • Standard$69.99/one-time
    • Full version
    • All features
    • Lifetime updates

Final Cut Pro

$12.99/month
  • One-Time Purchase$299.99/mo
    • Full access to all Final Cut Pro features
    • Permanent license for macOS
  • Apple Creator Studio$12.99/month
    • Final Cut Pro
    • Logic Pro
    • Motion
  • Apple Creator Studio Annual$129/year
    • All apps included
    • Yearly billing discount

Which should you pick?

Choose Affinity Designer if

  • You need vector drawing.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
  • You also want bezier tools.

Choose Final Cut Pro if

  • You need magnetic timeline.
  • You work on macOS, iPadOS.
  • You also want multicam editing.

Questions people ask

Is Affinity Designer or Final Cut Pro better?
Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Final Cut Pro at $12.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Final Cut Pro?
Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Final Cut Pro at $12.99/month.
Does Affinity Designer or Final Cut Pro run on more platforms?
Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Final Cut Pro runs on macOS, iPadOS.
What is Affinity Designer best used for?
Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what Final Cut Pro is typically brought in for.
What can Affinity Designer do that Final Cut Pro cannot?
Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. Final Cut Pro covers Magnetic Timeline, Multicam editing, 360° video editing, HDR support. Both handle Macos support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?

Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.

Source
Final Cut Pro: Does Final Cut Pro work on Windows or Linux?

No. Final Cut Pro is macOS and iPad exclusive. There is no Windows or Linux version. Windows users must use alternatives like DaVinci Resolve or Premiere Pro.

Source
Affinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?

Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.

Source
Final Cut Pro: How much does Final Cut Pro cost?

Final Cut Pro costs $299.99 as a one-time purchase, or $12.99/month via Apple Creator Studio subscription. The subscription includes Motion, Compressor, Logic Pro, MainStage, and Pixelmator Pro. New users get a 30-day free trial with Creator Studio.

Source
Affinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?

No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.

Source
Final Cut Pro: Does Final Cut Pro support 4K and 8K editing?

Yes. Final Cut Pro supports editing from 4K to 8K resolution projects with HDR support, advanced color correction, and machine learning-based tools like object tracking and auto-reframing.

Source
Final Cut Pro: Can you import projects from other NLEs?

Final Cut Pro supports XML-based import and export for transferring projects to and from third-party applications. Not all complex effects and third-party plugins transfer perfectly between systems.

Source
Final Cut Pro: Is there a free tier or trial?

No free tier. Apple offers a 30-day free trial of the Apple Creator Studio subscription, or 90 days on new devices. The one-time purchase has no trial.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads