Smart Home · head to head
Apple HomeKit vs Particle

Apple HomeKit
Smart Home
Apple's secure smart home platform integrated with Siri
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apple HomeKit requires Apple device for setup and remote access; limited interoperability with non-Apple devices; Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
- They diverge on capability: Apple HomeKit covers Siri Integration, Particle covers Device OS.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apple HomeKit and Particle actually diverge.
| Attribute | Apple HomeKit | Particle |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Unknown | subscription |
| Platforms | iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Apple TV, HomePod, Web (via iCloud.com) | Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps |
| Founded | 2014 | 2013 |
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apple HomeKit
- Siri Integration
- End-to-End Encryption
- Automation Scenes
- Remote Access
- HomePod
- Apple TV
- Apple Watch
- Third-party accessories
Only in Particle
- Device OS
- Cloud Platform
- Device Management
- OTA Updates
- REST API
- WebHooks
- Integration marketplace
- 3rd party services
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apple HomeKit
- Unified control of multi-vendor smart accessoriesnot Particle
- Time, location, and sensor-triggered automationsnot Particle
- Siri voice control of accessoriesnot Particle
- Remote access via a Home Hubnot Particle
- Grouping accessories into scenesnot Particle
Particle
- Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Apple HomeKit
- Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Apple HomeKit
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apple HomeKit
- Requires Apple device for setup and remote access; limited interoperability with non-Apple devices
- HomeKit devices require manufacturer certification, limiting product selection compared to alternatives
- Automations are more limited compared to open platforms like Home Assistant or professional systems
Particle
- Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
- The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
- The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
- Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
- No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost
Pricing, plan by plan
Apple HomeKit
Free- HomeKit (free)Free
- Local control of HomeKit devices
- Siri voice control
- Device automations
- Home hub (requires device purchase)$undefined/mo
- Remote access
- HomeKit Secure Video (free with iCloud+ 2TB)
- HomeKit automations
- iCloud+ 2TB (required for Secure Video)$9.99/month
- HomeKit Secure Video 4K (in iOS 27)
- 2TB iCloud storage
- Private email relay
Particle
Free- MakerFree
- 5 free devices
- Cloud access
- Basic features
- Production$100/month
- Unlimited devices
- Advanced analytics
- Enterprise support
Which should you pick?
Choose Apple HomeKit if
- You need siri integration.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Apple TV, HomePod, Web (via iCloud.com).
- You also want end-to-end encryption.
Choose Particle if
- You need device os.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
- You also want cloud platform.
Questions people ask
- Is Apple HomeKit or Particle better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apple HomeKit starts at Free and Particle at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apple HomeKit or Particle?
- Apple HomeKit starts at Free and Particle at Free.
- Does Apple HomeKit or Particle run on more platforms?
- Apple HomeKit runs on iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Apple TV, HomePod, Web (via iCloud.com). Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
- Can I use Apple HomeKit for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Apple HomeKit best used for?
- Apple HomeKit is most often used for unified control of multi-vendor smart accessories, time, location, and sensor-triggered automations, siri voice control of accessories, remote access via a home hub. Of those, unified control of multi-vendor smart accessories and time, location, and sensor-triggered automations are not what Particle is typically brought in for.
- What can Apple HomeKit do that Particle cannot?
- Apple HomeKit covers Siri Integration, End-to-End Encryption, Automation Scenes, Remote Access. Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apple HomeKit: Does Apple HomeKit require a home hub?
A home hub is required for remote access and automations. Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd gen), or HomePod mini can serve as hubs.
SourceParticle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?
Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.
SourceApple HomeKit: Is HomeKit data encrypted?
Yes. HomeKit uses end-to-end encryption for all data and communications with HomeKit devices, keeping all home data secure.
SourceParticle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?
A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.
SourceApple HomeKit: Does HomeKit support Thread?
Yes. Thread-enabled accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod mini, or iPhone running iOS 18. Thread provides improved reliability and responsiveness for HomeKit devices.
SourceParticle: What location data retention does each tier provide?
Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.
SourceApple HomeKit: What devices are compatible with HomeKit?
HomeKit supports thousands of certified devices including lights, locks, thermostats, cameras, and plugs from manufacturers like Philips Hue, Yale, Ecobee, and Logitech.
SourceParticle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?
Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.
SourceApple HomeKit: Does HomeKit support Matter?
Yes. HomeKit supports Matter, enabling HomeKit devices to work with other ecosystems like Amazon Alexa and Google Home on the same Matter protocol.
SourceParticle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?
The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.
SourceRelated pages
More on Apple HomeKit
Other head to heads
- Apple HomeKit vs Home Assistant
- Apple HomeKit vs Eufy Security
- Apple HomeKit vs Control4
- Apple HomeKit vs Arlo
- Apple HomeKit vs Yale Smart Locks
- Apple HomeKit vs Savant
- Apple HomeKit vs August Smart Lock
- Apple HomeKit vs Crestron
- Apple HomeKit vs Homey
- Apple HomeKit vs Node-RED
- Apple HomeKit vs Losant
- Apple HomeKit vs Roomba
- Apple HomeKit vs TP-Link Kasa
- Apple HomeKit vs Aqara
- Apple HomeKit vs Arduino Cloud
- Apple HomeKit vs Blynk
- Apple HomeKit vs Ecobee
- Apple HomeKit vs Amazon Alexa
- Apple HomeKit vs Google Home
- Apple HomeKit vs Thread
- Apple HomeKit vs MQTT
- Apple HomeKit vs SmartThings
- Apple HomeKit vs Zigbee Alliance
- Apple HomeKit vs Meross
- Apple HomeKit vs Nanoleaf
- Apple HomeKit vs OpenHAB
- Apple HomeKit vs Philips Hue
- Apple HomeKit vs Ring
- Particle vs Home Assistant
- Particle vs Eufy Security
- Particle vs Control4
- Particle vs Arlo
- Particle vs Yale Smart Locks
- Particle vs Savant
- Particle vs August Smart Lock
- Particle vs Crestron
- Particle vs Homey
- Particle vs Node-RED
- Particle vs Losant
- Particle vs Roomba
- Particle vs TP-Link Kasa
- Particle vs Aqara
- Particle vs Arduino Cloud
- Particle vs Blynk
- Particle vs Ecobee
- Particle vs Amazon Alexa
- Particle vs Google Home
- Particle vs Thread
- Particle vs MQTT
- Particle vs SmartThings
- Particle vs Zigbee Alliance
- Particle vs Meross
- Particle vs Nanoleaf
- Particle vs OpenHAB
- Particle vs Philips Hue
- Particle vs Ring

