Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CookDocs vs OpenTable

CookDocs logo

CookDocs

Restaurants

Kitchen documentation and training

From
$49/month
Rated
-
OpenTable logo

OpenTable

Restaurants

Restaurant reservation and management platform

From
$39/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CookDocs cookdocs.com redirects to modeeri.com; OpenTable openTable for Restaurants charges a subscription fee on top of per-cover network fees: Basic is $149/month with covers free for the first 30 days then $1.50 per network cover, Core is $299/month at $1 per network cover, and Pro is $499/month also at $1 per network cover, so cost scales with both plan tier and diner volume rather than a flat seat price (archived plans page, 5 November 2025)
  • They diverge on capability: CookDocs covers Recipe documentation, OpenTable covers Online reservations.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CookDocs and OpenTable actually diverge.

Attributes where CookDocs and OpenTable differ
AttributeCookDocsOpenTable
Starting price$49/month$39/month
Founded20181998

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CookDocs

  • Recipe documentation
  • SOP management
  • Training guides
  • Visual instructions
  • Team sharing
  • Version control
  • Google Drive
  • Dropbox

Only in OpenTable

  • Online reservations
  • Table management
  • Guest profiles
  • Waitlist
  • Marketing tools
  • Reviews
  • Toast
  • Square

Both cover

  • Web support
  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CookDocs

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

OpenTable

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CookDocs

  • cookdocs.com redirects to modeeri.com
  • No transparent pricing on public pages; demo booking required
  • Pricing structure not disclosed; contact sales required

OpenTable

  • OpenTable for Restaurants charges a subscription fee on top of per-cover network fees: Basic is $149/month with covers free for the first 30 days then $1.50 per network cover, Core is $299/month at $1 per network cover, and Pro is $499/month also at $1 per network cover, so cost scales with both plan tier and diner volume rather than a flat seat price (archived plans page, 5 November 2025)
  • On the Basic plan, reservations booked through the restaurant's own website are not free: they cost $0.25 per cover or a $49/month flat fee, a charge that is waived only on the higher Core and Pro tiers (archived plans page, 5 November 2025)

Pricing, plan by plan

CookDocs

$49/month
  • Basic$49/month
    • Documentation
    • Basic features
  • Pro$99/month
    • Training
    • Analytics

OpenTable

$39/month
  • Basic$39/month
    • Reservations
    • Table management
  • Core$249/month
    • Guest profiles
    • Marketing
  • Pro$449/month
    • Full features
    • Premium support

Which should you pick?

Choose CookDocs if

  • You need recipe documentation.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want sop management.

Choose OpenTable if

  • You need online reservations.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want table management.

Questions people ask

Is CookDocs or OpenTable better?
Neither clearly leads. CookDocs starts at $49/month and OpenTable at $39/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CookDocs or OpenTable?
CookDocs starts at $49/month and OpenTable at $39/month.
Does CookDocs or OpenTable run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, Ios, Android, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is CookDocs best used for?
CookDocs is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
What can CookDocs do that OpenTable cannot?
CookDocs covers Recipe documentation, SOP management, Training guides, Visual instructions. OpenTable covers Online reservations, Table management, Guest profiles, Waitlist. Both handle Web support, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CookDocs: How much does Modeeri (cookdocs redirect) cost?

No specific pricing information is publicly available. Customers must book a demo or contact sales directly to learn costs.

Source
OpenTable: How much does OpenTable restaurant solutions cost?

OpenTable does not publish specific pricing rates or plan tiers on its website. Restaurants must contact the sales team to receive custom pricing quotes based on their individual needs.

Source
CookDocs: How long does implementation take?

Most businesses are fully onboarded within days to a few weeks depending on the number of locations and modules being implemented.

Source
OpenTable: Is there a free trial for OpenTable?

OpenTable's website does not specify free trial availability. Interested restaurants are directed to request a demo or contact the sales team directly for information about trial options and custom pricing.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads