Softwr

Personal Finance · head to head

Moneydance vs Quicken

Moneydance logo

Moneydance

Personal Finance

Cross-platform personal finance management

From
On request
Rated
-
Quicken logo

Quicken

Personal Finance

Take control of your finances

From
$3.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Moneydance the free trial is limited to 100 manually entered transactions; Quicken promotional pricing available only for annual billing; higher rates apply for monthly billing
  • They diverge on capability: Moneydance covers Bill tracking, Quicken covers Budget creation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Moneydance and Quicken actually diverge.

Attributes where Moneydance and Quicken differ
AttributeMoneydanceQuicken
Starting priceOn request$3.99/month
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
PlatformsWindows, Mac, Linux, IOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS
Founded20011983

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Personal Finance).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Moneydance

  • Bill tracking
  • Investment monitoring
  • Budget tracking
  • Financial forecasting
  • OFX import
  • Linux support
  • Android support

Only in Quicken

  • Budget creation
  • Bill management
  • Investment tracking
  • Tax planning
  • Credit cards

Both cover

  • Bank accounts
  • Investment accounts
  • Windows support
  • Mac support
  • IOS support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Moneydance

  • Desktop personal finance management on macOS, Windows and Linuxnot Quicken
  • Importing and reconciling bank and credit card transactions locallynot Quicken
  • Tracking investments and budgets without a cloud-only servicenot Quicken

Quicken

  • Individuals managing personal finances via Quicken Simplifi cloud app for budgeting and savings trackingnot Moneydance
  • Freelancers and self-employed managing business and personal finances via Quicken Business & Personal plannot Moneydance
  • Users preferring local data storage via Classic desktop editionsnot Moneydance

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Moneydance

  • The free trial is limited to 100 manually entered transactions
  • A one-time Buy Once purchase covers Moneydance 2024 plus one free upgrade to the next major release, not all future versions
  • Bank connection features are sold separately as the Moneydance Plus subscription rather than included in the one-time purchase
  • Business use requires one licence per computer, while the household licence covers personal use only

Quicken

  • Promotional pricing available only for annual billing; higher rates apply for monthly billing
  • Subscriptions auto-renew at current rates unless manually cancelled

Pricing, plan by plan

Moneydance

On request
  • Perpetual License$59.99/month
    • Full feature set
    • Free updates

Quicken

$3.99/month
  • Quicken Simplifi$3.99/month
    • Billed annually at promotional rate
    • Regular price $6.99/month
    • Mobile and web access
  • Quicken Business & Personal$4.99/month
    • Billed annually at promotional rate
    • Regular price $8.99/month
    • Mobile and web access

Which should you pick?

Choose Moneydance if

  • You need bill tracking.
  • You work on Windows, Mac, Linux, IOS, Android.
  • You also want investment monitoring.

Choose Quicken if

  • You need budget creation.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS.
  • You also want bill management.

Questions people ask

Is Moneydance or Quicken better?
Neither clearly leads. Moneydance starts at On request and Quicken at $3.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Moneydance or Quicken?
Moneydance starts at On request and Quicken at $3.99/month.
Does Moneydance or Quicken run on more platforms?
Moneydance runs on Windows, Mac, Linux, IOS, Android. Quicken runs on Web, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS.
What is Moneydance best used for?
Moneydance is most often used for desktop personal finance management on macos, windows and linux, importing and reconciling bank and credit card transactions locally, tracking investments and budgets without a cloud-only service. Of those, desktop personal finance management on macos, windows and linux and importing and reconciling bank and credit card transactions locally are not what Quicken is typically brought in for.
What can Moneydance do that Quicken cannot?
Moneydance covers Bill tracking, Investment monitoring, Budget tracking, Financial forecasting. Quicken covers Budget creation, Bill management, Investment tracking, Tax planning. Both handle Bank accounts, Investment accounts, Windows support, Mac support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Moneydance: How much does Moneydance cost?

Moneydance pricing is not disclosed on the main website; customers must visit the purchase page to view rates. The software includes a 90-day money back guarantee.

Source
Quicken: How much does Quicken cost?

Quicken Simplifi starts at $3.99/month (billed annually) or $6.99/month (monthly billing). Quicken Business & Personal costs $4.99/month (annual) or $8.99/month (monthly). Annual billing offers savings versus monthly subscriptions.

Source
Moneydance: Is there a free trial?

Yes, Moneydance offers a free trial that is fully functional but limited to entering up to 100 manually entered transactions.

Source
Quicken: What is the difference between Quicken Simplifi and Quicken Business & Personal?

Quicken Business & Personal includes the ability to run up to 10 businesses at no extra cost, making it suitable for freelancers and small business owners. Quicken Simplifi is designed for personal finance and couples. Both are available on mobile and web.

Source
Quicken: Can I cancel my Quicken subscription anytime?

Subscriptions auto-renew at then-current rates unless cancelled. The page indicates cancellation is possible but does not specify the cancellation process or any early termination fees.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads