Crypto · head to head
Compound vs Rainbow
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Compound no pricing information is published on the pricing page.; Rainbow free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
- They diverge on capability: Compound covers Lending, Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Compound and Rainbow actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Crypto).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Compound
- Lending
- Borrowing
- cTokens
- Governance
- COMP Token
- Web support
Only in Rainbow
- Ethereum Wallet
- NFT Gallery
- ENS Integration
- Layer 2 Support
- Swaps
- Optimism
- Arbitrum
- Base
Both cover
- Ethereum
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Compound
- Decentralised finance (DeFi) lending and borrowing protocol on Ethereumnot Rainbow
- Cryptocurrency collateral management for USDC borrowingnot Rainbow
- Interest earning through crypto asset supplynot Rainbow
- Algorithmic interest rate determination based on supply and demandnot Rainbow
Rainbow
- Walletsnot Compound
- Ethereumnot Compound
- Mobilenot Compound
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Compound
- No pricing information is published on the pricing page.
Rainbow
- Free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
Pricing, plan by plan
Compound
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Compound review.
Rainbow
Free- FreeFree
- Ethereum wallet
- NFTs
- ENS
Which should you pick?
Choose Compound if
- You need lending.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Ethereum.
- You also want borrowing.
Choose Rainbow if
- You need ethereum wallet.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Ios, Android, Chrome.
- You also want nft gallery.
Questions people ask
- Is Compound or Rainbow better?
- Neither clearly leads. Compound starts at Free and Rainbow at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Compound or Rainbow?
- Compound starts at Free and Rainbow at Free.
- Does Compound or Rainbow run on more platforms?
- Compound runs on Ethereum. Rainbow runs on Ios, Android, Chrome.
- Can I use Compound for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Compound best used for?
- Compound is most often used for decentralised finance (defi) lending and borrowing protocol on ethereum, cryptocurrency collateral management for usdc borrowing, interest earning through crypto asset supply, algorithmic interest rate determination based on supply and demand. Of those, decentralised finance (defi) lending and borrowing protocol on ethereum and cryptocurrency collateral management for usdc borrowing are not what Rainbow is typically brought in for.
- What can Compound do that Rainbow cannot?
- Compound covers Lending, Borrowing, cTokens, Governance. Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet, NFT Gallery, ENS Integration, Layer 2 Support. Both handle Ethereum.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Compound: How much does Compound cost?
Compound does not publish pricing information. No details about pricing tiers, plans, or costs are available on the pricing page or main website.
SourceRainbow: Is there a premium tier available on Rainbow wallet?
Yes, Rainbow Black is a premium upgrade that offers free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded. The specific cost of Rainbow Black is not disclosed on the homepage.
SourceRainbow: Does Rainbow offer a rewards program?
Yes, every trade on Rainbow earns RNBW tokens as rewards. However, the homepage does not specify conversion rates or redemption value for the RNBW token.
SourceRainbow: What is the cost of using the base Rainbow wallet?
The Rainbow wallet app appears to be free to use, with a premium Rainbow Black tier available for additional features. Specific pricing for Rainbow Black is not published on the homepage.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Compound vs Aave
- Compound vs Curve Finance
- Compound vs Binance
- Compound vs Bybit
- Compound vs Gemini
- Compound vs Uniswap
- Compound vs MakerDAO
- Compound vs Lido
- Compound vs Glassnode
- Compound vs MetaMask
- Compound vs Bitfinex
- Compound vs Etherscan
- Compound vs QuickNode
- Compound vs The Graph
- Compound vs TradingView
- Compound vs Trezor Suite
- Compound vs Trust Wallet
- Compound vs Phantom
- Compound vs Exodus
- Compound vs Argent
- Compound vs Zerion
- Compound vs OKX
- Compound vs SushiSwap
- Compound vs Alchemy
- Compound vs Bitget
- Rainbow vs Aave
- Rainbow vs Curve Finance
- Rainbow vs Binance
- Rainbow vs Bybit
- Rainbow vs Gemini
- Rainbow vs Uniswap
- Rainbow vs MakerDAO
- Rainbow vs Lido
- Rainbow vs Glassnode
- Rainbow vs MetaMask
- Rainbow vs Bitfinex
- Rainbow vs Etherscan
- Rainbow vs QuickNode
- Rainbow vs The Graph
- Rainbow vs TradingView
- Rainbow vs Trezor Suite
- Rainbow vs Trust Wallet
- Rainbow vs Phantom
- Rainbow vs Exodus
- Rainbow vs Argent
- Rainbow vs Zerion
- Rainbow vs OKX
- Rainbow vs SushiSwap
- Rainbow vs Alchemy
- Rainbow vs Bitget


